Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in the state of Florida is a serious offense. This pretty much goes without saying, however, it’s shocking to hear and see how many alcohol-related accidents still happen. It’s so easy to go out after work or on the weekend, have a few drinks—or more than you planned—and then get in the car and drive home when you think you only have a “buzz.”
But the truth is, this ONE decision can impact the rest of your life…
If you are driving under the influence of alcohol, chemical substances or controlled substances, (DUI) it is a criminal offense punishable by Penalties for DUI and/or imprisonment in Jacksonville, Florida. Under Florida law, if you have a blood or breath alcohol level (BAL) of 0.08, there is a presumption that you are impaired, but you can be charged with a lower BAL. If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Jacksonville, Florida, then here are some Penalties for DUI you can expect to face:
What Are the Penalties for DUI in Jacksonville?
This is often one of the first questions our clients and potential clients ask. We understand that it is frightening to face criminal charges with associated fines and possible jail time. Our Jacksonville criminal lawyers want to help you understand your rights and the penalties you may be facing.
For your first DUI/DWI, your penalties may include:
- a fine between $500 and $1000, plus court costs
- for a blood alcohol level above .15, a fine of $1000 to $2,000, plus fees and court costs
- probation for up to a year
- 50 hours of community service
- driver’s license revoked for 6 months to 1 year
- 10 day-impoundment of your vehicle
- mandatory DUI classes
- up to 6 to 9 months in jail
- possible ignition interlock device for up to 6 months
In Florida, the penalties can escalate for repeat offenders. If this is your second, third, or fourth DUI/DWI then the State may seek jail time in your prosecution.
Fine: You will be fined an amount not less than $1,000 and not exceeding $2,000. If your BAL is found to be 0.15 or higher and/or if you have a minor in your vehicle, you will be fined between $2,000 and $4,000.
Imprisonment: If your second conviction is within 5 years after the first, then you will be sentenced to imprisonment that is mandatory of 10 days, of which you will have to spend a minimum of 48 hours of confinement consecutively.
Vehicle and driver’s license: Your vehicle may be impounded for up to 30 days and your driver’s license may be revoked for a minimum of 5 years with an option for hardship reinstatement after 1 year.
Fine: You will be fined an amount not less than $2,000 and not exceeding $5,000. If your BAL is found to be 0.15 or higher, you will be fined an amount not less than $4,000.
Imprisonment: If your third conviction is within 10 years after the second, you will be sentenced to a mandatory 30 days, of which you must spend 48 hours of confinement consecutively.
Vehicle and driver’s license: Your vehicle may be impounded for up to 90 days and your driver’s license may be revoked for a minimum of 10 years with an option for hardship reinstatement after 1 year.
Fourth and subsequent conviction
Fine: You will be fined a minimum amount of $2,000.
Imprisonment: You may be sentenced to up to 5 years’ imprisonment at the court’s discretion.
Vehicle and driver’s license: Your license may be permanently revoked with no option for hardship reinstatement.
Personal injury or property damage:
You may be charged with First Degree Misdemeanor, which has a penalty of up to $1,000 fine or you may get a 1-year prison sentence. Your driver’s license may be permanently revoked with no option for hardship reinstatement.
Serious bodily injury repeat offenses:
For repeated offenses up to 10 years, you may be charged with Third Degree Felony, which carries a sentence where you would have to pay up to $5,000 fine and/or 5 years’ in prison. Your driver’s license may be permanently revoked with no option for hardship reinstatement.
Vehicular homicide and manslaughter:
For a DUI manslaughter in Jacksonville, Florida, the charge is a Felony of Second Degree, which carries a sentence of up to $10,000 and/or 15 years in prison.
For DUI manslaughter plus fleeing the scene, the charge is a Felony of First Degree, which carries a sentence of up to a $10,000 fine and/or 30 years’ in prison.
For vehicular homicide and leaving the scene, the charge is First Degree Felony, which carries a sentence of up to a $10,000 fine and/or 30 years’ imprisonment.
Related Article: Will I Go to Jail for Vehicular Homicide?
Your license may be permanently revoked with no option for hardship reinstatement.
As one can see, the penalties for DUI charges in Jacksonville are serious—and can severely impact your life, especially if you face significant jail time.
Call an Experienced DUI Attorney Jacksonville
Of course, every case is different, and the penalties can vary depending on the case and accident as well as the details of how it happened. This is why you shouldn’t face your Penalties for DUI alone—and you don’t have to. Work with a DUI attorney in Jacksonville to find out your options.
GET ANSWER NOW
Or schedule an in-office FREE CASE REVIEW
What constitutes a personal injury?
The most common personal injury is an auto accident, but the broad definition encompasses any situation where a person suffers harm due to the negligence of another person or entity. Early identification of a personal injury is important to the legal process. Many serious injuries occur each year involving:
– Auto accidents
– Premises liability accidents such as injuries caused by a slip and fall
– Medical malpractice/nursing home injuries
– Wrongful death
– Work-related accidents
– Animal attacks
– Faulty or malfunctioning products (product liability)